Wildflowers

Swamp Plants

I have noticed that there are several lovely swamp plants thriving at the cottage. Unfortunately they cannot be seen from the cottage, so they are not something that I can encourage for the flowerbeds I am trying to cultivate. However, I love checking in with them and watching them as they grow and bloom.

blue-flag-iris-iris-versicolor

I was thrilled to find we have a Blue Flag Iris – Iris versicolor growing at the cottage.

yellow-iris-iris-pseudacorus

I was surprised to find we also have a Yellow Iris – Iris pseudacorus. I had never seen one before.

bottle-gentain

I very much enjoyed the Bottle Gentain – Gentiana andrewsii. It flowered for about a month and was finally eaten by a caterpillar. I read that deer may chomp off the tender tops of the plants before they flower, but this one was in an awkward spot for a deer to reach.

butterfly-flower

Another beauty that appeared was the Butterfly Milkweed – Asclepias tuberosa. The orange flower is quite striking. Apparently it is not very common, so I was thrilled that we have some. Unfortunately I didn’t pay attention and collect some seeds. Hopefully it will return this year.

swamp-milkweed-2

Swamp Milkweed is lovely, but not as striking as its orange cousin.

turtlehead

Turtlehead – Chelone glabra, is another plant I had not seen before. Apparently it is the primary plant on which the Baltimore Checkerspot Butterfly will lay its eggs, but I have not seen any around.

meadow-rue

Meadow Rue – Thalictrum pubescens doesn’t have outstanding flower, but I love the foliage and the fact that it is native.

winged-loosestrife

I was concerned that this plant might be Purple Loosestrife – Lythrum salicaria. Purple Loosestrive is native to Europe and Asia and brought to North America in the early 19th century. It is highly invasive, but before I attempted to remove it I wanted to make sure it was what I thought it was. The images I had seen had brighter coloured flowers, so I was hoping that my identification was wrong. Thankfully I was wrong. It is Winged Loosestrife – Lythrum alatum, which is native and I am so glad that I didn’t try to remove it.

water-lily

I will end with a Water Lily, that isn’t really a swamp plant, but a true water plant. We have lots in the lake. There are also some yellow ones too, but I love these white beauties.

Leave a Reply

