Amphibians

Master Of Disguise

OK, so I might have jumped to the wrong conclusion for a second time regarding bullfrogs. I did my research and I thought I knew what to look for and how to tell a green frog from a bullfrog.

DSC_8662bullfrog.jpg

Then I met this frog. I was sure it must be a bullfrog. The dorsolated ridge hooking around the tympanum seems so clear. However, there is also a slight dorsolated ridge that runs down the sides of the back, which the bullfrog doesn’t have and I didn’t notice at first.

DSC_8658frog.jpg

When I got to see this same frog from the front, the dorsolated ridge running down the sides of the back are really pronounced, so it has to be a green frog.

So was my previous post actually a bullfrog? I guess it could also be a master of disguise and was hiding the tell-tale dorsolated ridge running down the sides of its back. Once more I am reminded that there is so much detail I need to observe to be sure I don’t jump to the wrong conclusions!

 

Leave a Reply

