Birds · Mammals · Reptiles

Return Visits

Even though we have seen them before, it is always a treat when we get return visits from some of the critters that we don’t see all the time.

DSC_9016 porcupine.jpg

We got a closer encounter with the porcupine a few weeks ago. He waddled past behind the cottage and settled in this tree for the evening.

DSC_9207 snake.jpg

On the road leading to the cottage there is a sign saying, “Brake for Snakes” and we had to do that the other day. A Northern Water Snake was basking in the road and eventually slithered away, but not before I had jumped out to take its photograph.

Muskrat.jpg

I enjoy seeing the muskrat swimming around. He used to go past our dock quite frequently, but since we replaced it he has not been so close. I guess the shelter of the old dock has been disturbed, but perhaps in time he will return and feel at home there again.

DSC_1353woodpecker hole.jpg

We know we have had several return visits from woodpeckers. We found evidence that one has taken a liking to the stump we are using for our dock table.

DSC_1055woodpecker.jpg

We saw this one around the same weekend, but it wasn’t near the dock, so it might not be the culprit. I think it is a Hairy Woodpecker. The bill is quite large and I can see all-white outer tail feathers, which tell it apart from a Downy Woodpecker that is smaller and has spotted outer tail feathers.

Hornet.jpg

One return visitor I was not pleased to see was a hornet in the cottage. Actually by the time I saw it, it was no more and my son had zapped it. I don’t like to kill the wildlife, but I will make an exception for a hornet in the cottage!

DSC_1367 killdeer.jpg

And we had a new visitor that I haven’t seen before, although I am told they are quite common, a Killdeer. I hope it returns and give me a chance to take a better photograph!

Leave a Reply

